NSCI Safety Awards Scheme - An Overview


The National Safety Council institutionalised three distinct national level awards schems for the calander year - Manufacturing Sector since 1998;  Construction Sector from 2005 and Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises from 2009. The objective of the award schemes is to recognize and reward the organisations in manufacturing, Construction and MSME sectors for their meritorious Occupational Safety & Health (OSH) performance & commitment to reduce workplace injuries, implementations of the best OSH practices and encourage continual improvements.


In 2018, the Council has introduced an award scheme for the working safety professional in the Factories and subsequently, from this year it has been extended to construction sector. The objective of the scheme is to recognize the Safety Officer for his/her outstanding contribution to improve Safety and Health at workplace covered under the Factories Act,1948 or  the Building and other Construction Workers‘ (Regulation of Employment and Conditions of Service) Act, 1996 through his/ her own as well as collective initiative and leadership over the years.



Sector wise eligibility, assessment/performance period and details of awards click at the following link:


Brochures for the Awards Year-2019 are available - click here  arrow1


 Closing Date for receiving duly filled-in Applications:31st May, 2019.


 new star The last date for submission of filled-in Application for NSCI Safety Awards-2019 is extended from 31st May, 2019 to 30th June, 2019 



Assessment Process


The assessment criteria are objective, comprehensive and rigorous. The assessment process comprises the following four stages:

(i) Assessment of Applications by experienced technical team members following the assessment criteria developed by the Council.  
(ii)   Verification of data through enforcement agencies under the Factories Act and the Environment (Protection) Act.
(iii)   Presentation before the Awards Committee by senior level multi-disciplinary teams from short-listed contesting organizations.
(iv)  Field visit to few short-listed organizations by NSC technical team.


Awards Committee


Awards are judged by the Awards Committee appointed by the Board of Governors of the Council.




  • Announcement in January through Circular, Newsletter and NSC website
  • Procurement of Application Forms (with Rules & Regulations for participation) from NSC Office on payment by 31st May
  • Submission of completed Application along with prescribed entry fee by 31st May.


Contact details

The Director General,

National Safety Council,

HQs’ & Institute Building,

Institutional Area, 98-A, Sector-15,

CBD Belapur, Navi Mumbai – 400 614.

Tel : 022 -2752 2841 / 42 

Fax : 022-2757 6411

E-mail : This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Last Updated on Wednesday, 29 May 2019 10:15